On The Gods, Wherever I May Find Them

I have spent some time in the Hellenism subreddit as well as other polytheistic-oriented subreddits on Reddit and there is a frequent concern in these spaces about not hearing from the gods.

I think that because there is a very visible faction of people that say that “X god or Y goddess has spoken to them” or sent them an omen or message or something along those lines that many newcomers think this is normal. As such, when they do not receive such direct messages from the gods, they begin to doubt the existence of the gods.

As someone who likes to use the Orphic Hymns as a prayerbook, let me just remind folks that if you read the Hymns, you will be reminded that the gods are all around you. 

Sleep (Hypnos) and Dream (Morpheus) are gods. Day and Night are gods. The Sun (Helios), the Moon (Selene), and the Sky are gods. The Stars are gods. Love (Eros) is most certainly present in most of our lives. Day and Month and Year are gods as well.

Sure, maybe you’re not receiving messages from Father Zeus Himself, but the Thunder exists whether or not you give Him offerings. Why not recognize His majesty?

As I get older and more experienced in my polytheism, I find an animistic approach very appealing. Give offerings to mountains, to rivers, to the land upon which you live. Love the trees. Talk to houseplants. Be thankful for the food you eat. 

Ultimately, the goal should not be to receive specific messages from the gods. (Though if that’s what you desire, there are oracles that can help with answers to questions.) The goal, in my opinion, is to form relationships with the world around us, including the gods and spirits. Our non-human relationships can be just as important to us as our human ones.

~ by R.M. McGrath on 08/15/2023.

One Response to “On The Gods, Wherever I May Find Them”

  1. Thank you. I needed to read this today.

    Like

Leave a comment